The Search for Vaccines at the ANC 4B January 2021 Meeting

Advisory Neighborhood Commission 4B held its January 2021 public meeting on Monday evening. The commission serves the neighborhoods of Takoma, Manor Park, and Lamond-Riggs.  This blog post will highlight some of the top stories from this most recent meeting. I have also tagged the story with links to the meeting’s YouTube video.  The running theme of this meeting was how the quest for the COVID-19 vaccine has touched all areas of city services.

You can view a recording of the live stream here:

The meeting began with the election of new Commission officers for the 2021-22 legislative session.  The following positions were filled by members of the commission:

  • Chairperson – Alison Brooks
  • Vice-Chairperson – Brenda Parks
  • Treasurer – Geoff Bromaghim
  • Secretary – Erin Palmer


DC Public Service Commission

(video) Maurice Smith from the DC Public Service Commission & Stephen Marencic from the Office of the People’s Counsel gave two brief presentations to educate the public on how their organizations can provide relief to utility consumers during the COVID-19 public health emergency.

The DCPCS is the regulatory agency for all DC public utilities, including Pepco, Washington Gas, Verizon, and others.

The Commission assists the public by ensuring that consumers have continued access to utility services.  It supports the D.C. Council’s moratorium on the disconnection of electric and gas services for non-payment (in effect through March 31; may be extended).

Housing Justice Committee

Christopher Sousa, the secretary of ANC 4B’s new Housing Justice Committee, gave a brief update of the recent meeting in December.

The goals for the committee are:

  1. Helping the Commission evaluate development projects within the ANC’s boundaries to further affordable housing goals of the city.
  2. Monitoring legislation or city-wide actions that might affect affordable housing across the city.
  3. Doing public education and outreach about affordable housing and how residents can contribute.

There are four members of the committee, including Commissioner Erin Palmer who is the Chair. The group will meet bi-monthly.

Capital Grid Project

Anyone who lives anywhere near Eastern Avenue is fully aware of the impact Pepco’s Capital Grid Project has had on the community.  This major infrastructure project promises increased electrical reliability in the future, but it has been a nightmare on our local roads.

(video) At this meeting, Mr. Travoris Culpepper and his team delivered a lengthy update on the progress of the construction.  This work started two years ago and is anticipated to continue into the late fall of 2021.

Capital Grid Project
A map showing completed sections and areas with upcoming work.

Road restoration is one of the biggest concerns of local neighbors. Pepco and its contractors have pledged to do a better job of coordinating with the DC Department of Transportation on those efforts and keeping residents informed.

There were lots of details provided here. If you’re interested, I would recommend watching this section of the meeting video.


Report from Office of Ward 4 Councilmember Janeese Lewis George

(Video) Newly elected Councilmember Janeese Lewis George and her team were present to introduce themselves and share information about the latest projects that they’ve been working on.

The focus for her office has been on preparing the schools for reopening and ensuring that COVID-19 vaccine distribution is equitable.

Budget priorities include creating a comprehensive public safety plan for Ward 4.

Her new staff members are:

  • Chief of Staff Lenace Edwards
  • Constituent Services Coordinator Tamira Benitez
  • Constituent Services Coordinator Matthew Landrieu
  • Communications Director Alexandros Taliadoros

Sign Up for Email Updates from Councilmember Janeese Lewis George

If you meet the current eligibility criteria and you’d like to register for the vaccine online at or call the Coronavirus hotline at 855-363-0333

Report from the Mayor’s Office of Community Relations and Services

(Video) Mr. Anthony Mitchell from the Mayor’s Office of Community Relations and Services presented a brief vaccination update from the Mayor’s Office.  So far, more than 51,000 District residents have received the COVID-19 vaccine.  Another 9,000 doses will become available this Friday.

He made the point that private medical organizations within the city such as Howard University Hospital or Kaiser Permanente are receiving their own supply of the vaccine.  If you are associated with any of those organizations and are in an eligible group (i.e. 65+), you should contact your medical provider directly for an appointment.

Report from the State Board of Education Representative – Frazier O’Leary

(Video) Frazier O’Leary shared the latest information from the DCPS School Re-Opening plan.  All schools will reopen to care classrooms on February 1st. Approximately 30 percent of students will take part in in-person learning, depending on staffing and classroom space. All teachers and staff who will return will receive their first vaccination shots this coming weekend. All of the schools will be provided with the need PPE.

The Mrs. O’Leary book drive is now up to 15,000 books distributed to local schools and food sites.  If you have quality books to donate, please get in touch with him at

About Advisory Neighborhood Commission 4B

Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 4B represents the Ward 4 neighborhoods of Takoma, Manor Park, and Lamond-Riggs. An ANC is a non-partisan, neighborhood body made up of locally elected representatives called Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners. The Commissioners are elected to two-year terms and serve without pay.

The ANCs’ main job is to be their neighborhood’s official voice in advising the District government. Although they do not have to follow the ANCs’ advice, District agencies are required to give the ANCs’ recommendations “great weight.”

These are the members of ANC 4B:

Single Member District Name Email
4B01 Evan Yeats
4B02 Erin Palmer
4B03 Jocelynn Johnson
4B04 Brenda Parks
4B05 Vacant
4B06 Tiffani Nichole Johnson
4B07 Geoff Bromaghim
4B08 Alison Brooks
4B09 LaRoya A. Huff

Find your ANC here.



Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial